GOC/Bruce Galloway Trainee Awards

Ovarian Cancer Canada, in partnership with The Society of Gynecologic Oncology of Canada (GOC), established the Bruce Galloway Trainee Awards for obstetrics and gynecology residents who choose gynecologic oncology as an elective. The goal of the program is to increase the number of ob-gyn residents who select this specialty and remain in Canada to practice.

A monetary award of $1,500 is designed to cover travel and housing to work with a gynecologic oncology team during a one-month elective. Ovarian Cancer Canada and GOC will also consider additional costs incurred with respect to provincial licensing requirements. Guidelines are found in the application form.

To apply for the Bruce Galloway grant, please click here. For more information please contact Chisomo N Msoffe by email at cmsoffe@gyneoncology.ca or by phone at 1(888) GYNEONC or 1(888) 496 3662 Ext. 701 

Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis.

2019 grant recipients:

Kristin Black, MD (PGY-4, University of Alberta)
Lauren Adolph, MD (PGY-3, Dalhousie University)
Jessica Ruel-Laliberté, MD (PGY-3, Université de Sherbrooke)

To access a complete list of grant recipients, click here.

The Allen-Carey Scholarship of Excellence in Women’s Health: Award Announcement for 2019-2020

The Allen-Carey Board and the London Health Sciences Foundation are pleased to announce details of the Allen-Carey Scholarship of Excellence for 2019-2020.

The Allen-Carey award supports specialized physician training in Women’s Health for individuals who seek unique training experiences not otherwise funded.  One of the goals of the Scholarship is to foster leadership development in talented individuals who wish to improve our health care system through advancements in the field of Women’s Health.

Application materials and information for applicants are available through the London Health Sciences Foundation website at http://www.lhsf.ca/allen-carey-scholarship-womens-health.

In 2020 a total of $40-50,000 is available for the award and the funds will be used to support the successful candidate. The application deadline is November 15th, 2019.

For the full award announcement, click here.

For the applicant information, click here.